Flight

This is a movie about the consequences of a plane crash due to a technical failure and an intonxicated pilot. The leading character is Captain William “Whip” Whitaker, played by Denzel Washington. Don Cheadle co-stars as his lawyer, Kelly Reilly is his part-time lover, John Goodman is his drug dealer, and Bruce Greenwood as his old friend. Its directed by Castway’s Robert Zemeckis, which other notable work includes Back To The Future Trilogy, Forrest Gump (for which he won an Academy Award for Best Director) and 2011’s Real Steel.

This movie has lots of raw scenes, makes it feel more real, that includes drugs, sex and violence, so watch out if you’re sensitive. I was in a bit of a shock. To me there’s over use of toxic substances, to the point of where it seems normal to the audience and one becomes accustomed.

I’m glad about the way the movie ended, I won’t spoil it, but it was good. That’s something of upmost importance to me and really hard to find.

Washington was stellas as usual, to me he’s the male Meryl Streep. The script is no big deal, I’ve seen yunkies and adicts before in other movies. What makes it different is Denzel’s character and portrayal. Kudos also to the screenwriter, John Gatins, for coming up with such an inventive way to land a plane. I sense that he had to have some kind of bagagge on that particular area. You could say that I agree with the Academy for nominating the film precisely on these two categories.

On a curious note, I’ve noticed a movement that Denzel Washington does, its his mouth and  in a weird manner, as if it’s too big for his face. It’s kinda funny and makes it seem as if he’s always chewing something. For the last half hour of the movie, all I could see whenever he was talking was his movement of the mouth, seriously it’s  distracting.

It was well executed by the director, but the screenplay wasn’t extraordinary. Zemecki’s finest work is Forrest Gump to me, and Gatins’ Real Steel. Flight is behind these two films with 3/5 stars.

Leave a comment